One Fabulous Thing

…because each day has at least one.

Recipe: Baked French Toast January 2, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — onefabulousthing @ 7:45 pm

Late in the afternoon on New Year’s Eve, I got it in my head that we needed something a little special for New Year’s Day brunch. Our plans for NYE included a steak dinner cooked by me at home, followed by watching the next few episodes of Dexter in bed on the laptop. While we munched on appetizers (herbed cheese, olive tapenade, and pepperoni served with thin slices of baguette), I Googled for a Baked French Toast recipe.

This one from All Recipes came up first, so I decided to work with it. I had a loaf of Italian bread that I sliced and toasted slightly in the oven with my potatoes that were roasting for dinner.

I only had 6 eggs instead of 8, so I used all of those. I did not have 1.5 cups of half-and-half, so I used egg nog instead (the kind from a carton). I used pumpkin pie spice instead of just cinnamon.

I buttered an 8X8 Pyrex and arranged the slices of bread by cutting some in half so they fit well, dipping each piece in the egg mixture before placing it in the dish. I propped up the bread slices in rows, and the whole loaf filled the dish nicely. I poured the remaining mixture over the bread, which left an inch or so of liquid at the bottom of the dish. I covered it with foil and left it in the refrigerator overnight.

The next morning I skipped the corn syrup mixture because I didn’t have any, put some pats of butter on the top and baked, covered in foil, at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Then I removed the foil and baked for an additional 10 minutes.

The verdict: Great. I served it with local maple syrup, but it barely needed any. Even the baby loved it.

 

One Response to “Recipe: Baked French Toast”

  1. Kelly Says:

    That recipe is a favorite in our house. Special mornings, Easter, Christmas and such it comes out. Also, when we have friends over. I, like you, never follow it exactly, but it always tastes fabulous!


Leave a Reply

