One Fabulous Thing

…because each day has at least one.

01.05.2010 A Good Fit January 5, 2010

Filed under: Family,Style — onefabulousthing @ 9:06 pm

A few years ago when I started dating the man who would become my husband, his parents very generously (because that’s how they roll) invited me to their house for Christmas morning, and gave me a whole bunch of presents. As I opened them, my now mother-in-law said that she really enjoyed shopping for things for a girl, as she had only had sons. Super sweet, right?

So I’m opening one of the boxes, and there is a shirt inside. It’s a long-sleeved top with a multicolored pattern on it. I’m thinking, definitely my colors but a little outside what I would probably select for myself, but that’s OK…wait a second. It’s the same shirt that my boyfriend’s mother is wearing right now. She bought me the same shirt that she is wearing.

I hope that my face at the time didn’t betray my thoughts, which were something like “Oh wow, is this some weird Oedipal stuff going on right now? Am I dating a man who wants me to dress like his mom? Does she hate the way I dress and she wants me to be more like her? What could this mean???

Fortunately I learned over the next few years that sometimes a shirt is just a shirt. My in-laws are warm, wonderful people who have welcomed me into their family and adore my son exactly as much as I’d want them to.

OK, I’ll get to the point. The One Fabulous Thing about today was wearing the shirt that my mother-in-law got me for Christmas this year for the first time:

The Fabulous ShirtOne of those colors that looks right on everyone, one of those necklines that is interesting and flattering without being a ruffle, and one of those fabrics that hangs beautifully and comfortably with nary a wrinkle at the end of a long day.

I hope my mother-in-law picked one up for herself.

So, Fabulous Thing #5: Wearing something fabulous, from someone fabulous.

 

Leave a Reply

