One Fabulous Thing

…because each day has at least one.

01.19.2010 At Last January 19, 2010

Filed under: Family — onefabulousthing @ 10:55 pm

Nineteen short days into this little project, I am struck with how prominent of a role the mail has played in the things I find fabulous about each day.

To date, there was the gift from my father, the invitations for my son’s birthday, and the seed catalogs just yesterday. Getting the mail every evening is a nice part of my daily routine, and in this cold weather is often the only thing that will make me deviate off course as I scurry from my car to the house at the end of the day. My son has reached the age where it is not safe to leave him inside alone for even a second, nor is it allowed (by him) to leave him in the carseat for a fraction of a second after the car engine has been shut off, so he accompanies me to the mailbox every evening.

In recent weeks, the short walk includes some unintelligible chattering, along with gesturing to streetlights while making a very deliberate “la” sound. He picked this up around Christmastime when lights were not in short supply, and the novelty has not worn off. I grab the mail, and immediately hand over any circulars to the baby’s grabbing hands. Once inside, he sits at my feet and looks through catalogs for things I will never buy, reviews credit card offers that I will not take, and shreds envelopes for easier recycling. It’s like having a tiny personal assistant with a very specific and destructive skill set.

I put aside anything with my husband’s name on it, debate over and then open anything addressed to both of us, and then open anything for me.

Today, the thing addressed to me was an invitation to a wedding shower. The particularly fabulous thing about this wedding shower is that it is for a woman who has reached a certain age where it is notable that she has decided to marry for the first time in her life. I am more than a little cynical about weddings and the state of marriage in our society in general; but, it seems like if you reach a certain age, living a fabulous life on your own, and then take the leap when the pressure is off and no one expects kids or a traditional life to follow – it must really be love.

And, when you have lived your whole life giving generously to others and celebrating their life milestones with them, you deserve one hell of a wedding shower when it’s your turn. I can’t wait to be a part of it.

So, Fabulous Thing #19: Finding a dream to speak to, a thrill to rest your cheek to, and some really high thread count sheets to call your own.

 

2 Responses to “01.19.2010 At Last”

  1. littlehousesouthernprairie Says:

    I have an unhealthy love of mail. 🙂


Leave a Reply

