One Fabulous Thing

…because each day has at least one.

Recipe: Honey Wheat Bread in the Breadmaker April 4, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — onefabulousthing @ 9:26 pm

A few weeks ago, I was walking into my office when I saw a coworker carrying in a bread machine. I asked her if she was planning on making fresh bread for her sandwiches every day, and she replied that she was decluttering her kitchen (perhaps a fellow Apartment Therapy Spring Curer?) and figured that someone at our office would want it. She was right! I took it from her and stashed it in my car.

I have been wanting a breadmaker for a while, but the cost for buying even a used one was hard to justify, since we don’t eat that much bread and it seemed like it would take a while to break even on the expenditure. But a free breadmaker? Sold!

The recipes that came with it were sort of disappointing, containing a lot of sugar and shortening and butter – not really what I was looking for. I found Bread-Maker.net, and a recipe for Honey Wheat Bread that I modified slightly, and crossed my fingers as I pressed “Start.”

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/8 cups warm water at 110°F
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/3 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cups bread flour
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seed meal
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast

Pour the water, oil, and honey into the well of the breadmaker. Add the flour and the flax seed meal, making a volcano in the middle of the wet ingredients. Add the salt and the yeast in the crater. Snap the well into place, and select the light color setting.

The original recipe also called for the wheat bread setting, which adds 40 minutes to the total cooking time. By accident, I started it with the timer at 3 hours instead of 3 hours and 40 minutes. The booklet that came with the breadmaker warned that dire things would happen if I attempted to stop and re-start, so I didn’t. The whole house smelled of yeasty goodness for a few hours, and the bread was fantastic, with a nice crust and crumb.

 

Leave a Reply

