One Fabulous Thing

…because each day has at least one.

04.04.2010 Things Aren’t Always What They Seem April 11, 2010

Filed under: Garden — onefabulousthing @ 9:43 pm

Today was Easter, the important Christian holiday of small toys, chocolate, lots of eggs. fertile bunnies, pastel colors, and fancy hats. And Jesus. There’s something about Jesus in there, right? Just kidding – I went to Catholic school, I know the deal.

Today was also significant for the blow that I struck against my formerly-held ideas about myself. I think everyone has those persistent thoughts that come from the offhand comments of others, or perceptions about what is good and bad that are formed in a million different ways. In no particular order, here are some of mine:

  • I’m a picky eater
  • I have a black thumb
  • I’m shy
  • I’m not athletic

It’s funny how sitting here, right at this moment, I would agree that all of the above statements are true about me. This is despite some evidence to the contrary:

  • I love to cook all different types of food, and I have dined at some amazing restaurants and eaten their tasting menus without any special requests.
  • I taught undergraduate psychology classes for a few years, and one of the things that excites me the most about my current job is doing trainings. My profession at its core requires me to make connections with people.
  • I have run a marathon.

And as of today, this last one is true:

  • I have started a vegetable garden.

I’m not exactly sure why I hold on to these things about myself that aren’t accurate or helpful. I am happy to knock another one off my list. Wish me luck.

So, Fabulous Thing #94: Growing.

 

2 Responses to “04.04.2010 Things Aren’t Always What They Seem”

  1. Rena Says:

    Your blogs are great to read. I have a black thumb haha never have tried a garden.
    Rena

    • Thanks Rena! You never know about the black thumb thing…I have sprouts on most of my seeds now. I figure keeping a kid alive is harder than keeping a plant alive, and we’ve both done that!


Leave a Reply

