One Fabulous Thing

…because each day has at least one.

04.05.2010 First! April 13, 2010

Filed under: Work — onefabulousthing @ 9:08 pm

I have been dragging my feet about posting this, because it feels a little…petty? Small-minded? I have been trying to come up with some other way to say this, some different spin I could put on it, to no avail. So here it is, in all of its lowly glory: Today, I got to the office before my boss on her first day back from a 4 -month maternity leave.

This is so trivial for many reasons, not the least of which is that she is the last person to keep mental tallies of the comings and goings of her senior management team. There are objective measures by which she can easily see that the program that I have been directing in her absence has been stable and profitable. I’ve hired some quality staff, and hopefully helped retain some others.I’ve worked hard to maintain our good relationships in the community and to uphold the high standard of work that we do.

Maybe I was a little concerned about where I would stand when my boss came back and things got a little reshuffled, maybe I didn’t want her to think that I’d been slacking off in her absence.

But there’s just something about sitting at your desk, as though you could have potentially been there for hours already, when your boss walks in. Judge away.

So, Fabulous Thing #95: Making a good first impression, all over again.

 

Leave a Reply

